Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Date

 | 7am PST |  11am EDT | 16:00 UTC | 17:00 CET |

Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/436210993

Attendees


Informed

Discussion items

TimeItemWhoNotes
00:00Admin

Next meeting: 2020-11-04
Summer time ends in NorthAmerica Sunday 01-11-2020

16:00 UTC / 8am PST/ 11:am EST / 17:00 CET - usually in summer

17:00 UTC / 9am PST/ noon EST / 18:00 CET  - usually in winter

00:10O-RAN-SCO-RAN-SC PTLs

Status reports:

  • SMO:
    • ref definition using ONAP tools for packages
    • YANG test infrastructure deployed in BedminsterLab
  • Non-RT-RIC: 
    • A1 enrichment info
    • extending A1-sim
      • tests
    • R1 app catalog - inti version
  • SIM:
    • see YANG part of SMO
    • TOC: copyright issue - are we allowed deploy yang models.
  • OAM:
    • see YANG part of SMO (wink)
    • review of O-DU O1 implementation
00:20Calender

Martin – 1 point: Based on the recent guidelines from LFN, we should enable password/passcode, and also waiting room for zoom meetings. Let’s discuss this also in the call today.

00:25Use Case

Use Cases

Please see page #2 for details: 
5G Use Cases in R7 Guilin. - 

very first view - to be discussed further:

  1. BULK PM –PM control
    • 100% aligned with O-RAN interface specification; use case was demonstrated several times
      proposal: Check updates of 3GPP pm xml file format and updates of VES messages
  2. OOF -SON PCI (5G)
  3. 5G SERVICE MODELING & DEFINITION (5G)
  4. CONFIGURATION & PERSISTENCY SERVICE
    • use VES 7.2 - reference will be in O-RAN specs.
    • use 3GPP NRM - see https://forge.3gpp.org/rep/sa5/MnS/
    • open: is the abstraction by 3GPP and O-RAN sufficient for all the targeted use case - how do µServices, rApps make use of C&PS, if C&PS is device model driven and not service model driven?
  5. xNF LICENSING MANAGEMENT
    • not subject of O-RAN (yet)
    • proposal: defer or contribute terms, definitions, specifications to O-RAN
  6. ONAP/3GPP & ORAN Alignment
    • O-RAN O1 data models are augmenting 3GPP data models
    • A1, R1, O2 data models are subject of O-RAN only
  7. ONAP/ORAN Alignment -A1 adapter
    • Detailed alignment/collaboration needed with O-RAN-SC Non-RT-RIC project (John Keeney)
  8. 5G NRM (CM)
    • CM is part of O-RAN OAM Architecture and OAM interface specification
      proposal: as a staring point the 3GPP NRM yang models V16.0.5 from July 2020 should be used - for VES the version 7.2 is specified. TODO: Add link to 3GPP 
  9. E2E NETWORK SLICING (5G Use Case)
    • Network Slicing is not part of 3GPP NRM so far
      proposal: waiting for 3GPP and O-RAN specifications


00:30

POD (Policy-Management-Service) restart required for Guilin

00:59

Kuldeep Negi

Questions and Answers

END


Backup




00:00
@all

Closer collaboration related to use cases

Please follow:

00:00
@Mahesh

Application Package Structure

  • TOSCA 
00:10
Mahesh

Postman scripts to interface with the SMO and in turn test O1 interface between the SMO and different parts of O-RAN instances of O-CU, O-DU, O-RU and RIC using these models. 

  • yang modules
  • framework for test and validate CM 

share content in in SMO gerrit and create wiki linking to the same source

  • Working on a framework for vendors for OAM/YANG tests
  • O-RAN-SC to host the framework
  • Postman and vsCode as RestClients
  • Alex about to setup a SIM in OSC lab - involve Rittwik in a O-RAN private lab
  • OpenFronthaul
  • 3GPP models are considered.

Feedback from Rittwik

  • SMO in T-Labs
  • how to run Netopeer server - req to Felix (O-RAN-SC INT PTL)
  • Alex asked for VMs 

Init script (Postman) for O-RAN OAM FH M-Plane (o-ran-interface.yang augmenting ) interface demoed

RFC8040 (RestConf by IETF) support supported by ODL

00:25

Konrad is absent this week. The presentation will be made when Konrad is available.

O-RAN Component deployment

The question is: How to deploy the red colored CNFs/VNFs of the O-RAN-Architecture?

  • CNF for O-RAN-components 
    • model of CNF - how to be configured, how many components, blueprints
    • CDS model needs to be created
    • Network-service based on several CNFs
      • CNF types
        • Near-RT-RIC
        • O-CU-UP
        • O-CU-CP
        • O-DU

For detailed discussion the following page was created:


Package

  • for Network Functions (priority)
  • for Network Service (second step)

CNFs or VNFs

  • both should be considered 
    • let's start with CNFs first
    • VNF is considered as additional option


  • no CNFs and VNFs combined in a single package
    • maybe not for rApps → 
    • VNF should take care about internal CNFs


Action items